Windward West Indian Hot Pepper Sauce

06 September 2012 ~ 15 Comments

Windward West Indian Hot Pepper Sauce

"For me this is almost a perfect heat for a table sauce"

Windward’s Indian Hot Pepper Sauce is a blinder!  The sauce has a traditional Caribbean pepper sauce flavour that you may have tried before with sauces such as Baron and Encona, very fruity, quite sharp, but with an undercurrent of mellow thyme.

This is one of those sauces that really wakes your tastebuds up, and is great with most foods.  I have it parked on my desk at work, and regularly add it to whatever I have for lunch – whether it be sandwiches, salads, or egg tortilla.

Heat wise it’s one to watch since the flavour punch comes way before the heat, and then as you digest the heat quickly creeps up with you and will leave your tongue and lips stinging.  For me this is almost a perfect heat for a table sauce.

Perhaps not the most unusual or original sauce, but it’s certainly one to keep an eye out for.

Produced by: Panesar Foods Ltd
Country of origin: England
Size: 230g
Heat level: 4
(Heat rating and review are out of five, with five being the hottest and best.)

Ingredients:

  • Red Habanero peppers
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion
  • Thyme
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Vinegar
  • Water
  • Xanthan gum
  • Modified Maize Starch
  • Citric Acid

15 Responses to “Windward West Indian Hot Pepper Sauce”

  1. bebop 6 September 2012 at 9:07 pm Permalink

    Love this this sauce,burns the roof of your mouth of but still tastes great

  2. pezz1980 15 September 2012 at 6:00 pm Permalink

    Where did you buy this? I got some a while back but never seen it since

    • Hot Sauce Review 15 September 2012 at 6:07 pm Permalink

      A cheapy shop in Stroud, Gloucestershire called ‘Home Bargains’. They do lots of end-of-line products so I’d imagine it’s being phased out, which is a shame.

      • Paul Warren 12 February 2014 at 5:45 pm Permalink

        Not long bought a bottle from HB Albany Rd Cardiff to add some kick to my beans on toast.. ( – ;

        • Hot Sauce Review 17 February 2014 at 9:14 am Permalink

          Glad to hear it’s still in circulation!

  3. geoff 3 April 2013 at 12:24 pm Permalink

    been using for over a year now , great sauce ! But bought new bottle , lable has changed slightly and so has sauce ! any one else noticed heat has doubled and taste has changed .

  4. Anthony M 30 April 2013 at 10:13 pm Permalink

    Fantastic sauce. A real pity if they are to be phased out so I hope that is untrue.

    @geoff: the heat has DEFINITELY intensified it came as a shock to me at first but now I dispense accordingly and I swear it tastes better. Might have to invest and stock up a years worth! 😀

  5. kev 12 June 2013 at 8:01 pm Permalink

    garlic and chilli’s great too with trace fat.Amazing hot everything that tastes great gets fazed out.

  6. Ewan 11 October 2013 at 5:37 am Permalink

    Fantastic sauce. I sent an email to Windwards just to clarify the
    situation.

    It appears there is nothing to worry about. This superb chilli
    sauce is not disappearing anytime soon………….

    To: Bill Panesar
    Subject: Windwards Hot Pepper Sauce.

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Well, what can I say? I’m something of a fanatic for
    hot pepper sauces, and, indeed, over the years, I’ve
    spent a considerable amount of research and money on
    them.

    Your product “Windward West Indian Style Hot Pepper
    Sauce” simply beats everything hands down.
    Not vinegary, not overly salty, just the right
    texture, and the heat – which is not for the
    fainthearted I’ll admit – is perfection.

    My only source in Dundee (goodness knows why)for this
    product is “Home Bargains”. Why it’s not dominating
    the shelves of Tesco or Asda I’ll never know.

    Anyway, I heard a rumour that this product was being
    discontinued – please confirm otherwise, as, with
    17 bottles in my cupboard, I haven’t any more space
    for storage.

    Kindest regards,

    Ewan.

    Good afternoon Ewan.

    Product is not delisted so take heart.
    I am pleased you are enjoying our Hot Pepper Sauce.

    Regards

    Bill

    • Hot Sauce Review 17 February 2014 at 9:15 am Permalink

      Thanks for posting this Ewan, great to hear.

  7. Baseman 13 December 2015 at 10:53 pm Permalink

    I don’t like this sauce. It’s not true authentic hot pepper sauce like the Jamaican one, which uses Scotch Bonnet Peppers. This Asian company has tried their best to take over the original makers by making their products look like the original, they use Habanero peppers and not a lot of natural ingredients like te market leader. Encona, Grace, Walkerswood (Sounds like their version) and others (research them) are the real original products. This cheap version Windward is under selling a cheap version to take the market. Try the originals my good friends. Merry Xmas and happy New Year to you all.

  8. Adrian 4 March 2016 at 11:07 pm Permalink

    I’ve tried many hot sauces over the years but nothing can touch this the perfect blend so many people are quick to complain in this country but not to fast to praise up certain products well I’m setting the record straight it’s bostin p.s my wife picked it up a few years back at you guessed it home bargains ain’t stopped buying it since

  9. Richard T 16 October 2016 at 11:12 am Permalink

    I am enjoying Windward’s HOT Peri-Peri sauce also found in Home Bargans and I am very impressed with its HOT and lemony kick. I shall return on the strength of the reviews here for a supply of their Hot Pepper Sauce too. I have tried everything I can find in the market the fire-up my eggs in the morning and this nails it for me.

  10. Anjila 3 November 2016 at 3:51 pm Permalink

    Hi can anybody plz tell me where can i buy this suce online.coz i cudnt find it in grocery stores. My friend always brings this at work and its so delicious goes with anything. She said she bought it from sainsburys bt there wasnt any plz plz anybody let me kno.thank you


Leave a Reply